Winter training gear. Tights, overshoes etc. What is the bes

cpm3011
cpm3011 Posts: 14
edited March 2010 in Road buying advice
Hello there.

I have been browsing various websites looking for various winter items. I am training for a fairly intense Lands end to John O' Groats trip this summer and was wondering what winter equipment you guys would recommend. I am looking for some tights around the £100 pound mark and was wondering if anyone had any recommendations (are there some that are head and shoulders above the rest or is everything around there pretty similar quality wise?). Also, I thought overshoes/shoecovers might be important on the cold long rides. I am riding around 125-150 miles at a time but as you can probably tell, I am pretty new to winter training. Any help/suggestions?

Comments

• APIII
    APIII Posts: 2,010
    For me, the most important bits of kit are those for the extremities, i.e gloves (Endura stryke), socks (Assos winter plus), shoe covers (Endura), and some form of headwear (old Discovery winter hat!). Sort these out first, then see how much you've got left for bibtights. £100 bibs will be comfortable and good quality, but a cheaper pair will be just as warm. A cheap buff will also keep your neck/chin warm on the really cold days (hopefully not too many more of those :wink: )
  • Scrumple
    Scrumple Posts: 2,665
    bit late now

just grab some DHB bib longs, some windproof gloves, endura road overshoes, a craft long sleeve base layer, and a windproof softshell.

And a windproof headband.

sorted.
  • Scrumple
    Scrumple Posts: 2,665
    if it improves, switch the softshell for a windproof gilet, arm warmers, a base layer vest, and jersey.
  • bigpikle
    bigpikle Posts: 1,690