Tyre Pressure

gareth.cantrill
gareth.cantrill Posts: 33
edited February 2010 in MTB general
I'm riding about on a new Trek 8000. Happy as Larry with it but wondering what tyre pressure I need for pottering about my local trails. Obviously I'm new to riding.

The tyres fitted are Bontrager XDX, 2.2 on Bontrager SSR rims.

Comments

• robertpb
    robertpb Posts: 1,866
    How heavy are you?
    Now where's that "Get Out of Crash Free Card"
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • personal preference, I use quite high pressures on the hardtail, lower on the Fsuser...

Experiment and find out what you feel comfortable with.
  • gezzza
    gezzza Posts: 324
    As low as you can get it with out hitting the rim or getting snake bit punchers if your still in the 19th century :wink:

More grip and less rolling resistance win win
  • P-Jay
    P-Jay Posts: 1,478
    gezzza wrote:

They're mutually exclusive when it comes to tyre pressures.

Rolling Resistance increases as pressure drops.

As for the OP, it's, as it's been mentioned, down to personal choice. I'd start with 35psi, if you find it's 'twitcy' drop it a bit, if it feels OK, try raising it a bit. That'll make it easier to pedal/roll.

Then of course you can get proper anal like me and run different pressures front and back. As most of the weight is on the back (especially when climbing whilst seated) I run the rear quite hard. If I'm racing and there's a straight section I can shift my weight back and it was roll faster. I run the front softer, when cornering I've got my weight forward over the bars so need more front end grip. Also you can 'lose' the back easy and carry on, lose the front and 9 time out of 10 the first you know about it is you're on the floor looking up.
  • gezzza
    gezzza Posts: 324
    edited February 2010
    P-Jay wrote:
    gezzza wrote: