3 months off work, a hardtail and a car... any suggestions?

Peps Bee
Peps Bee Posts: 4
edited February 2010 in Routes
I'm after some advice. I'm heading to Europe (mostly France, but could drive anywhere) for April, May and June this year. I'll be loading the car with a whole range of sports equipment and hope to do a bit of off road while I'm away.

Problems are: I'm very new to mtb- started in August 09; I'm fairly slow (Wall followed by Penhydd back-to-back at Afan takes 4hr50); I've only Welsh mtb trail centres; I'll be travelling alone.

I've been looking at some amazing-looking places for some xc rides in the book 'Mountain Biking Europe', but I'm starting to wonder if it's silly to think I'm ready for these unfamiliar routes.

Has anyone been biking and Europe and could recommend some places for beginners?

I'm sure I'll meet people while I'm away, but do you think it's foolish to contemplate going to these places alone, as a beginner?? Any advice much appreciated

Cheers guys!

B

Comments

• Problems are: I'm very new to mtb- started in August 09; I'm fairly slow (Wall followed by Penhydd back-to-back at Afan takes 4hr50); I've only Welsh mtb trail centres; I'll be travelling alone.

I'd say you could do with gaining some experience, getting some coaching/training, going on one of the specific MTB holiday packages, or taking a few mates with you.
  • Wow...that sounds fantastic...haven't been abroad on my bike so can't help you but was thinking of going to morzine on a dirt girls week...Can't afford to have a couple of months off...lucky bugger but if you do want someone to join you for a couple of days i'd be up for that :P Just pm me...good luck anyway and have fun
    Biking whore of Wyre....rides with anyone!
  • So lucky :D I haven't got any experience of riding in Europe, but I'm sure there are some guided rides out there. Perhaps it's worth looking into something like that so you wont be on your own.