Stabilisers

DragonDyf
DragonDyf Posts: 14
Hi. First post, but a long time lurker!

I'm a product design student, and have been looking into how children learn to ride a bike.

Stabilisers are the cheapest, and most common technique used by parents, yet they are not perfect. I'm looking to possibly re-design the stabiliser enabling the child to learn the techniques and skills in how to ride a bike correctly.

I realise there are other alternatives, like a running bike, but I'm not aiming for that end of the market.

If you have any suggestions, stories from your dealings with them, please shout out!

Thanks for your time! :D

Comments

• Wooliferkins
    Wooliferkins Posts: 2,060
    The running bike breaks the learning process down into manageable chunks. The child learns balance and steering without the confusion of worrying about brakes and pedals. Once one skill is mastered you move onto the next. IMHO and understanding of the process confidence in balance is the first thing that needs to be mastered then the rest can be added. A running bike is not at any "end" of the market especially as stabilisers are much cheaper than upgrading machines. Good luck.
    Neil
    Help I'm Being Oppressed
  • Wooliferkins
    Wooliferkins Posts: 2,060
    Oops sorry, Welcome along.
    Neil
    Help I'm Being Oppressed
  • Mike Healey
    Mike Healey Posts: 1,023
    edited January 2010
    Designe them with a quick release mechanism which can be removed in the shop and thrown in the bin. :wink:

Alternatively, link QR mechanism on stabiliser with pedals, so that removing stabiliser also removes pedals. Then teach kid to ride the most time-efficient way using bike as runner bike, then put pedals back on. 8)
    Organising the Bradford Kids Saturday Bike Club at the Richard Dunn Sports Centre since 1998
    http://www.facebook.com/groups/eastbradfordcyclingclub/
  • ok, I can see how this is going!

So whats so bad about stabilisers then?

Thanks in advance.