North East Rides

Hurricane151
Hurricane151 Posts: 632
Does anyone know of any sportives etc that are up and coming in the north east?

I have signed up for the Northern Rock Cyclone and the GNBR but was looking to try and do a few more. This is my first year doing these and just trying to get involved as much as I can but a bit inexperiencedd with where to find out about them etc

Any help or ideas, much appreciated

Comments

• hugo15
    hugo15 Posts: 1,101
    I can highly recommend the Richmond Sportive. It is run by Richmond Cyling Club. Choice of 50, 80 of 100 mile routes. Entires open soon. I'm not a member of thier club, just someone who has really enjoyed their sportives.

http://www.richmondcyclingclub.co.uk/

The best place to find out about sportives is here http://www.cyclosport.org/

Where abouts in the North East are you?
  • Thanks very much. i'll check those out.

I am located in Cleadon, just outside sunderland.
  • LardLover
    LardLover Posts: 676
    There's also the Cumberland Challenge in September. I did it for the first time last year, a fantastic (tough) route, marshalled by THE friendliest people you're ever likely to meet. Fantastic butties at the feed stations, but sadly lacking the pies I desperately needed by the last feed station :wink:

Event

and some thoughts about last years ride here
  • tarquin_foxglove
    tarquin_foxglove Posts: 554
    edited January 2010
    These are the ones I know of...

June
    6th Sunday - Thirsk: Evans Ride It 30/60/90 miles Cost: £10 http://www.evanscycles.com/ride-it/thirsk-north-york-moors-5th-6th-june-2010

6th Sunday - Darlington: The Round 50 mile Ride Cost: £4-£6 ish

12th Saturday - Newcastle: Northern Rock Cyclone 63 or 104 miles Cost: £20 http://www.northernrockcyclone.co.uk/CycloneChallenge.asp

July
    Sunday 4th - Darlington: The 70 mile cycle ride Cost: £4-£6 ish

August
    Sunday 1st - Darlington: The Castle 80 mile ride Cost: £4-£6 ish

September