Praise for Halfords (yes, really)

monkeylizard
monkeylizard Posts: 155
edited February 2010 in MTB general
I reserved some Shimano MT41 shoes on Halfords website yesterday to collect at the store. It's my first attempt with SPDs, so I thought I couldn't go far wrong for £25.

I arrived at the store only to be informed that they didn't have any in stock, despite their online computer thingy assuring me otherwise. Instead I was offered either some MT42s or some other Shimano more-racey type things.

And to the credit of the guy serving me, he said I could choose either and he'd let me have them for £25. So I now have a shiny (well, not shiny - brown) new pair of MT42s for £25 instead of the £70 they should have been :)

(I realise this is of limited use unless you can reserve something you don't really want on their website that's showing as being in stock and turns out not to be when you get there, only to be offered a more expensive alternative for the cheaper price. But Halfords tend to get some stick so on this occasion I thought they deserved a bit of praise).

Comments

• maloo
    maloo Posts: 214
    excellent :D
  • lol you lucky git :P
  • Surf-Matt
    Surf-Matt Posts: 5,952
    They have been very helpful to me recently - I think it depends a lot on their manager. A new one started not long ago and I've been very impressed.
  • Surf-Matt
    Surf-Matt Posts: 5,952
    They have been very helpful to me recently - I think it depends a lot on their manager. A new one started not long ago and I've been very impressed.
  • bails87
    bails87 Posts: 12,998
    My local store have always been excellent too.
    MTB/CX

"As I said last time, it won't happen again."
  • stubs
    stubs Posts: 5,001
    My local Halfords bikehut is now run by the kid who used to run the Chav motorparts section. Obviously selling oversize exhaust end pipes, fake alloy wheel trims and furry dice qualifies him to run a bike shop.