Recommended Helmets

dan1502
dan1502 Posts: 568
edited February 2010 in MTB buying advice
I'm completely new to this and need to get a Helmet. I popped to Evans yesterday and tried a few and have also measured my head which is 58cm. Of those I tried, I think the medium and large both fit in most cases - the medium pretty much on the biggest setting and the large towards the smallest.

Anyway I will be riding on the road and also on trails. I have narrowed it down to the following but am happy to consider others. Price is a consideration but I always hunt for the best deal so will not be paying anywhere near list price for any.

Giro Hex
Giro Athlon
Met Kaos
Met Kaos Ultralight
Bell Slant

Am I right thinking that a white helmet is best due to the heat soak of black in the summer? I have a white/green/black bike. I do like the look of the Athlon as the 2009 model is available in white/green and the 2010 in black/green/white.

I hate the look of helmets full stop so am also interested inwhich look the most ok if you know what I mean.

Thanks
Santa Cruz Tallboy

Comments

• nfrang
    nfrang Posts: 250
    Met Kaos(normal version) Comes in a nice green...

http://www.fudgescyclestore.com/index.p ... 91&o=98991

That or the Ultimalite would be my vote out of those.
  • Andy B
    Andy B Posts: 8,115
    Sod which one looks best, get the one that fits best ;)
    2385861000_d125abe796_m.jpg
  • blister pus
    blister pus Posts: 5,780
    I'd nip in a shop and try a few out, some heads better suited to some designs and brands. Hex is good value though.
  • dan1502
    I did try the Hex and the Chaos and some more expensive Giro's but I'm not sure which. The Giro Athlon's are perfect in terms of colour as they're the same schemes as my bike:

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=44597

http://shop.2wheelsonly.co.uk/giro-athl ... 2872-p.asp

http://www.konabikes.co.uk/2008/kula/20 ... -9-big.jpg