Help with setting up my new bike

dan1502
dan1502 Posts: 568
edited January 2010 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi, I've just received my new bike and have set most of it up but have a few questions. I'm completely new to this so please bear with me.

It's a Kona Kula Deluxe 29er 2008.

I read the set-up guide on here and I've set the saddle height and pushed it back as far as it will go. I tried the plumb line test and it's probably a couple of centimeters forward of the ideal with the seat as far back as it will go but I'm guessing that won't be too much of an issue. If I stand in the middle of the frame there's not that much of a gap (about three fingers) so I think the bigger frame would be a bit too big.

Anyway, how tight should the following be: quick releases, handle bar clamp (both sets), seat clamp. So far I've just gone hand tight and a bit on the small bolts and on the larger ones I've used allen key sockets with a ratchet but held it at the socket end and just tightened it a bit. I will get a torque wrench so would like to know what they should be at but does that sound ok for now?

Also, how do I tell how tight the chain should be? It seems fairly slack and the adjustment seems to be almost as far back in the frame as it will go.

I've just ordered a shock pump so should be able to sort that out (I may pop over to my local cycle shop to get that set initially tomorrow).

Any help appreciated. Now I just have to learn how everything works!

Should I get it checked over by someone before riding it and if so is there someone willing in the Manchester area?
Santa Cruz Tallboy

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    The instructions should tell you how tight most things need to be. The derailer takes up chain slack - make sure the wheels are fully in the droputs if you have been fiddling with it.

As for the plumb line test it means very little - go for what feels best to you.

Also check the Park Tools website.
  • dan1502