Bianchi or Boardaman comp bike help please

LeeStilton
LeeStilton Posts: 26
edited January 2010 in Road beginners
hi there

i am a newbie got a mtb and looking for a road bike i have a 100 mile bike ride planned for june and need a bike to train and do the event on.

i have been looking for a bianchi however i have seen quite a lot of people talking about the boardman bikes the only down side to these i feel is having to speak to a spoty teenager in halfords (bad past experience in halfords)

obviously ppl are buying bikes from there but i want to deal with a lbs to get get correctly measured up and experienced advice.

help please any help is gratefuly recieved.

Lee

Comments

• Stuy-b
    Stuy-b Posts: 248
    hey where are you from?
    i work at a halfords and would be more than happy to speak to you about the boardman if you want to speak to somone who knows about bikes rarther than a kid (like you find at MOST halfords).
    P.M me with any Q's you have and il help you out
  • just go into halfords, and ask to speak to the member of staff who has been sent on the boardman training course. That i believe at least one member of each boardman store has to go on every year.
    The guy at my halfords who went on this, is pretty sorted and knows his stuff. Personally id steer clear of bianchi unless you're spending a fair bit of money. I think the Via nirone, has sora stuff, boardman as 105/tiagra watered down mix. which in the long run and over long rides will seem sooo much better, even if the name doesnt have as much heritage behind it as a brand. but as a person? you cant argue with good ol' chris b!
    “If you worried about falling off the bike, you’d never get on.”

@mattbeedham
  • sicknote
    sicknote Posts: 901
    Also if you say where you live, people can tell you which ones are good whee you live.
  • true i live in Peterborough

just been to my lbs and fell in love with the bianchi via nirone 7 alu campagnolo xenon mix