What is best to drink while training and riding

jon514
jon514 Posts: 10
I am new to the sport and am looking to get educated. I am training in a class on a simulator 2-3 times a week in preparation for the coming spring. I am not sure what is best to drink while riding. I am looking to get leaner while riding. Is water alone sufficient? Does Gatorade have too much sugar and not enough protein?

I was also told to drink chocolate milk after my rides.

Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    Make sure you're adequately hydrated before you start.

Water alone should be OK for indoor workouts or rides of up to an hour

Once you get into longer rides, you might benefit from an energy drink which will provide carbohydrate for fuel and electrolytes to replace salts lost in sweating. Google them. Usually powders you mix with water.
    (Gatorade is not really suitable; it's fizzy for a start, which makes it harder to drink on the bike, and contains only sugar and water.)

After a long ride or hard workout a recovery drink is recommended to rehydrate you, replace the energy reserves, and provide protein for muscle building / repair. Google recovery drinks. A carb:protein ratio of 4:1 is often suggested. Chocolate milk isn't a bad suggestion.

Look for stuff by SIS, zipvit, hi-5 etc etc

Or do what I do instead:

My usual rides are only 15-50 miles, and for those I get by on orange squash, the odd Frusli bar, and a pocket full of jelly babies. Recovery at home involves a pint of tea and a couple of Hobnobs.
  • Bhima
    Bhima Posts: 2,145
    Read this, it tells you everything you need to know: http://www.bikeradar.com/forums/viewtop ... t=12572817
  • dennisn
    dennisn Posts: 10,601
    Water, water, water, water. Did I mention water? Add whatever foul tasting mix you deem you must, or have been convinced of by the advertisements, but water is what you will need the most.
  • Pokerface
    Pokerface Posts: 7,960
    keef66 wrote: