26 x 1.6 decent tyres

denty85
denty85 Posts: 48
edited February 2010 in The workshop
can anybody recommend a decent tyre for the above size for commuting. i'm not too bothered about weight, my biggest concern is puncture resistance. I liked the look of the schwalbe marathon plus but they don't seem to be available in this size. does anybody know of anything similar in my size?

Comments

• http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=24542

Have the 1.35 Marathon Plus in stock.
    ================
    2020 Voodoo Marasa
    2017 Cube Attain GTC Pro Disc 2016
    2016 Voodoo Wazoo
  • denty85
    sorry, i'm a bit new at this. does it not matter that the size doesn't match?

for future reference can you educate me a bit on what the rules are with tyres. ie. is there a certain amount of tolerance in the width sizes you can use?

thanks for your help

Dean
  • From what I can gather, there is nothing to worry about by having different width tyres on a bike, with the wider tyre often being fitted on the front (in theory to give more grip, although time trialers sometimes put narrower tyre on front to reduce drag).

Quoted tyre widths and their actual measured width is a minefield! Often tyres come up undersize, with manufacturers trying to push their lighter "like-for-like" models.

I have a set of 26x1.75s Marathon Pluses on my Saracen Pylon8 bike, I think... I will pop out to the shed a bit later (my floating day off from work today) and see what their actual width is. I shall report back with my findings ;)
    ================
    2020 Voodoo Marasa
    2016 Voodoo Wazoo
  • denty85
    that's really helpful. thanks for the explanation. how do you find getting you marathons on and off?
  • surreyxc
    surreyxc Posts: 293