Kinda new to this bike lark

C6SSYBOY
C6SSYBOY Posts: 27
edited January 2010 in Road beginners
Hello everyone, I have been cycling for probably 35 years on and off, nothing serious, just to school when i was kid, then when i left school and got a job i would cycle there, maybe not everyday, but i've always had a bike of some sort.

Well about 5 years ago i bought a pinarello angliru, rally loved it, probably didn't use it as much as i liked though, well, more recently i have been thinking about doing cycling abit more serious, you know, new year new me, i really fancy doing the dartmoor classic, only 65 miles though, only he says :)

I have changed my diet some what, porridge for breakfast, fish on ryvitas for dinner and if the wifes cooking it will be a roast, during the day i will eat lots of fruit, blueberries, grapes, apple, bananas, pears, an orange, oh and nuts with raisans, muller rice, i've also started eating olives, oh don't forget my egg whites :)

I've done a bit of research into haveing a protien drink and bought myself some whey powder, i've also bought a cycling training pack from lucozade.

Now all the time i rode the pinarello, i never really had a routine for the food, i would just take two bottles of a lucozade and ride, so my question is am i doing the right thing with regards the food side of it now, is there anything esle anyone would recommend to eat to help me ride better.

Also, i like to go cycling early morning, say 6 - 6.30 what do you recommend i eat prior to the ride either the night before or in the morning.

I've since sold the pinarello and bought myself a 2009 Specialized Tarmac pro, it's such a lovely bike, easy to ride, quick, smooth.

Thankyou for your time and i look forward to you answers.

Comments

• sheffsimon
    sheffsimon Posts: 1,282
    I wouldn't eat anything before a ride that early - if you want just eat a bowl of cereal or porridge - nothing special, and I wouldnt worry about what you eat the night before either.