Cramping Hands...Any Ideas?

shortyman
shortyman Posts: 48
edited January 2010 in Road beginners
Hi,

I'm new to road biking having previously ridden mtb/commuting mtb. I have a Specialized Allez Elite courtesy of bike to work which I started riding in November.

The problem I have is that I keep getting cramps in my hands (in the area between thumb and forefinger) when I'm riding on the hoods. I put it down to the riding position being so different but it hasn't gone away.

Am I over reaching and putting too much weight through my hands? Does anyone else have this problem? I'd be grateful for any hints or tips.

Thanks for reading,

Tony

Comments

• bobtbuilder
    bobtbuilder Posts: 1,537
    It may be that you are just getting used to that riding position and the muscles in your hands are not used to it, or you could be putting too much weight through that area.

Have you had many rides on the new bike yet? I sometimes get this problem if I have not ridden for ages, but it usually goes away after 3 or 4 rides.

Do you feel overstretched riding on the hoods?

Try riding with your hands on the top of the bars to give your hands a break.
  • Chirg
    Chirg Posts: 141
    Hi Shortyman

Yes I have had similar on a bike with aluminium forks (lots of vibration) on what I think they call chip and seal roads (lots of vibrations) when I had too much weight on my hands. I moved the handlebars higher. You can do this by rotating the bars, moving spacers from on top of the stem to underneath it or flipping the stem to make it point up. For me a couple of centimetres made all the difference.

Interestingly my core muscles have improved over the last couple of years so I am back in the position that gave me trouble before on the same bike, but as I now carry far less weight on my hands it doesn't give me any problems.

I would try flipping the stem, it won't cost you anything!
  • rake
    rake Posts: 3,204