what size£

40427 Posts: 119
edited January 2010 in Road beginners
http://www.winstanleysbikes.co.uk/produ ... _Bike_2009
i saw this bike and it seemed to be good price and decent spec but it only comes in a 51cm. i am new to road biking and wonder what this translates to in size. i have a 19 inch mountainbike and am 6ft. i need some help soon and could you recommend any other bikes under 500£ in whatever size you think i need.

Comments

• skyd0g
    skyd0g Posts: 2,540
    This bike would be way too small for you at 6ft I'm afraid. In road bike size, you'd be looking for something in the region of 54 - 56 cm or thereabouts (some six-footers on here will be able to give you a more accurate estimate). :D
    Cycling weakly
    thanks ill probably go for something 55cm.
  • skyd0g
    skyd0g Posts: 2,540
    <edit> I'd wait till some six footers amble along, I think my earlier estimate may still be on the small size, ...poss. more like a 56 - 58 cm frame would be a closer fit.

...like MTB frame sizes, the actual size you need can vary due to different manufacturers geometry, the type of riding you intend to do, your proportions and to some degree personal preference. :D
    Cycling weakly
  • giant_man
    giant_man Posts: 6,878
    40427 wrote:

55cm would be too small for you too man ......
  • Nuggs
    Nuggs Posts: 1,804
    40427 wrote:
    http://www.winstanleysbikes.co.uk/product/21612/Orbea_Enol_Bike_2009
    i saw this bike and it seemed to be good price and decent spec but it only comes in a 51cm. i am new to road biking and wonder what this translates to in size. i have a 19 inch mountainbike and am 6ft. i need some help soon and could you recommend any other bikes under 500£ in whatever size you think i need.
    A poorly fitting road bike will be pure misery. Go and see what sort of deals your LBS is offering - they can make sure you get a machine that fits and will offer invaluable support should it need tweaking etc,
  • soveda
    soveda Posts: 306