Deja vu... shopping for a(nother) new Road bike!

mattward1979
mattward1979 Posts: 692
edited December 2009 in Road beginners
Hey all

After having my Spesh allez stolen and the insurance company being kind enough to pay for a replacement, ill be looking to get a new bike in the New year with a budget of around £750

Where can you reccomend for New year sales? Do you think I could get a carbon frame for that in a sale? Would I want to?! or stick with a top end Alu frame for the price..
exercise.png

Comments

• flip that reminds me to insure my new bike... who were ya with was it specific to the bike or part of your house insurance... I haven't a baldy about bike insurance as I've never used it before. (Probably obvious)
  • Was there anything wrong with the Spesh to make you go looking for a different make?
    Doubt very much you'll get carbon, even in the sales for that money, not new anyway, but maybe second hand?

Oceanblue - with regards to insurance, I've just added my new Ltd Ed Team Carbon to my house insurance (Barclays buildings and contents) and it covers use away from the home. No increase to my policy this year and only £30 extra next year. That also covers any bike upto £1000 not just my road bike I rang about.
    Limited Edition Boardman Team Carbon No. 448
    Boardman MTB Team
  • Ocean, My insurance was with Abbey, but during the claim turned out the policy was with Ival (nope I never heard of them either!). And I only had to state brand, model and serial with a value and it was insured along with the contents. Not even a question about the type of bike lock!
    Called them with a crime ref, sent an email of a scan of myu receipt, and 1 day (1 day!!!!!!) later got a call confirming the cheque. Awesome service.