upper arm and/or shoulder pain - new to road cycling

ghesketh
ghesketh Posts: 8
edited December 2009 in Road beginners
I'm relatively new to road cycling - bought a new specialized secteur comp a month and a half ago. I've been going on 1 or 2 20-40 mile rides a week since getting the bike and am having trouble with pain on the outer face of my upper arm, essentially right where the deltoid muscle articulates with the humerus bone - but ONLY in my left arm. The pain seems like more of a numbness, and doesn't appear until perhaps 10-15 miles into the ride, but will go away instantly once I relax my arm (which is what I have to periodically do throughout the rest of my ride to keep the pain at bay). I have no pain whatsoever anywhere else, and there's no question that the bike is the proper size for me. Is this likely a fitting/positioning issue? Is this something that might be alleviated by strength exercise? Or perhaps just with more time riding, improved fitness, and getting used to being in a road bike position this pain will go away?

Any thoughts, advice, and/or sympathy would be very much appreciated.

thanks,
ggh

Comments

• Meds1962
    Meds1962 Posts: 391
    Sounds like you're just getting used to the bike / position, especially if it eases when you relax.

Go to the doc if it persists though, better safe than sorry!
    O na bawn i fel LA
  • Almost certainly a positioning issue. If the bike fits you well, your arms should be pretty relaxed at all times; that you have to conciously relax your arm indicates that something is not quite right. Maybe the saddle's too far forward or the stem's too long? Either would place extra load on your arms.
  • GregC
    GregC Posts: 65
    I had a similar shoulder pain which started over the past 12 months despite being ok before then and not changing my bike .I've been cycling for quite a few years .