Dead legs

castlesew
castlesew Posts: 9
edited December 2009 in Road beginners
I have been road cycling since July this year not ridden for 4 years previous and then was twice a week mountain biking, i did a couple of months riding 4 times a week building upto a 40 mile longest ride by myself, i then whent to my local club wakefield to ride with them doing 40 on a Sat morning and a 65 on a Tuesday, found it ok on the 40 and hard on the 65, but after 4 weeks riding with them , i found myself getting stronger each week and could hold my own and even push the pace a bit, i would do 25 on a Sunday and thursday steady. The last 4 weeeks i have started struggling and find it hard to keep up, not doing anything different from what i have done previous, my legs and whole body is suffering, can any body offer any advice :(

Comments

• bobtbuilder
    bobtbuilder Posts: 1,537
    I'm no expert but I would suggest looking at:

1) Nutrition - Are you putting in enough decent grub to sustain the increase in workload. Enough protein afterwards for recovery?

2) Rest - Are you getting enough? Stretching? It's easier to "forget" to stretch afterwards at this time of year when you're cold / wet at the end of a ride.

3) Illness - maybe you have a low level bug that your body is fighting off? Maybe get a check up?

My money would be on nutrition though.
  • I'm with Bob, for me nutrition is the absolute key to feeling "fresh" following a ride.

The "rule" of snack within 30 minutes, followed by a meal within two hours makes a world of difference to how I feel the following day (and subsequently) after a proper session.

A couple of biscuits with a cup of tea and then out of the lash, followed by a curry doesn't work for me anymore!

Neil
  • It sounds to me like your enthusiasm is ahead of your physical ability. Regular trained club riders will be better and been riding for years. You having to push yourself harder to keep up which your body isn't used to, week in week out.