how often oil chain

tolmie
tolmie Posts: 45
edited November 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi everyone, im new to mountain bikes, got my spec rockhopper a few weeks ago. I use my bike round abour 3-4 times a week. I've had the bike about a month now, how often should I lube the chain. I only do about 2-3 miles a ride.

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Have a look at it - is it coverered in blavk grime? If so, clean it and oil it.
  • Alex
    Alex Posts: 2,086
    Better still, if the bike's a month old, try not to clean it for a bit. The grease that comes on the chain as new is brilliant stuff and far superior to anything you'll ever manage to apply to it, and will stick around.

Unless of course you WD40 to death.

If there's no grease left, make sure you re-lubricate your chain with a good quality wet weather chain lube like Finish Line.
  • Northwind
    Northwind Posts: 14,675
    Cleaning is just as important as lubing IMO, doesn't need to be a big project mind, just throw it in a coffee jar with some paraffin or white spirit, give it a shoogle, and when it comes out it'll be brand new. Then relube with the quality lube of your choice. Only takes minutes... Actually faster than doing the chain on the bike in my experience.
    Uncompromising extremist
  • robertpb
    robertpb Posts: 1,866
    Northwind wrote:
    and when it comes out it'll be brand new.

Trust someone from north of the border to find a way of never buying a chain again. :lol:
    Now where's that "Get Out of Crash Free Card"
  • Northwind
    Northwind Posts: 14,675
    Ah, but it's a pointlessly expensive chain :lol:
    Uncompromising extremist
  • Cheshley
    Cheshley Posts: 1,448
    a shoogle......?
    1998 Marin Hawk Hill
    2008 Specialized FSR XC Comp
    2008 Scott Speedster S30 FB

SLOW RIDES FOR UNFIT PEOPLE - Find us on Facebook or in the MTB Rides section of this forum.
  • Cheshley wrote:
    a shoogle......?