Follow the Dog - Is my bike up to it?

rockhop2010
rockhop2010 Posts: 11
edited January 2010 in MTB beginners
I have only recently got into Mountain Biking and before purchasing my bike considered the type of riding I would be doing, which was on and off road but mainly trails. I decided to buy a Specialized Rockhopper SL 2010 (hardtail) for £700 as a starter bike.

However, my more experienced mate who rides a £3000+ Full Susser Cannondale suggested we go to Cannock Chase and "Follow the Dog", which I did last week.

Firstly, it was clear that the Specialized Fast trak Lk Sport tyres (26x2.0) are not up to the job in this weather. Any suggestions for a tried and tested tyre for this trail and to suit my bike??

Secondly, this course gives your bike a right hammering, as a novice I have no idea whether my relatively low budget low entry bike is up to this sort of treatment. I have already buckled a wheel (appreciate this probably par for the course) and after the "Chainslapper" have now developed all sorts of clicks and rattles.

Could anyone advise me whether I have wasted my money on my bike to use at Cannock or whether this is a perfectly suitable starter bike for the terrain and will serve a purpose!

Many thanks

Comments

• jairaj
    jairaj Posts: 3,009
    The Specialized Rockhopper is a proper mid range mountain bike. It is far from being a budget bike and more than up the job of follow the dog. So be assured the bike is good.

About the wheel are you a particularly heavy person? maybe stronger wheels are needed.

And about the clicks and rattles, bikes do develop these but they also require regular maintenance to reduce these. Check all the bolts are done up correctly and have a look on the Park tools website I think they have section on tracking down noises from the bike.
  • .blitz
    .blitz Posts: 6,197
    Your bike is fine for FtD. A FS bike makes it easier but as your technique improves you will find it's not necessary.