I'm a bit of a noob so bear with me...

Ransaka
Ransaka Posts: 474
edited November 2009 in MTB beginners
... please :D

So, I got myself a HT in July and climbed on having not ridden a bike since I was 17 (some 15 years prior). I have a Kona Firemountain (no jokes please, it's what I can afford :P ) and in addition to simple commuting to work and back I try and get out most weekends across the South Downs and hammer around Devils Dyke and such places, some uphill struggles that are rewarded with downhill fun.

What skills would folks suggest are needed for doing trail centres and hammering around downhill sections like Friston forest? I can vaguely bunny hop (enough to clear small obstacles) and have reasonable control over the bike but I basically don't want to go out and make an ass of myself or hack more experienced riders off with being a noob.
I feel confident the bike can take a fair hammering and I'm not afraid of a mild maiming, just don't want to look like a prat :D

Any suggestions?

Work has become something that happens between riding, does this mean I have been seriously bitten by the mtb bug? :twisted:

Comments

• jmj
    jmj Posts: 100
    Learning how to manual is always handy.

Helps you clear water hazards without getting soaked, allows you to clear dips that would grab your front wheel and throw you off.
    It looks quite stylish too if you get it right!

There's a guide here

J
    Commencal Meta 55 Team custom build
    Giant Trance 06
  • Hi Ransacka

Just try and get out and ride when and where you can. Practice will give you experience. I recently returned to mountain biking after years on the road and had probs with drop offs and step ups which seemed to throw me off regularily! Now I ride off every drop off I can find and can manage all the step ups on my route.

Every more experienced rider had to start from scratch so only the most self centered will get hacked off at you. On the whole most folk will be patient with you if necessary.