First Time at a Trail Centre- Delamere Forest.

Duggan13
Duggan13 Posts: 75
edited November 2009 in MTB beginners
Okay, so I have finally received my first 'proper' mountain bike and am itching to get out and use it properly. Things I guess to bear in mind are that I haven't really rode a bike since I was about 13 I guess (other than 1 trip along the Trans Pennine Way on mates a few weeks ago) and I am thus a complete novice.

Furthermore, I am not fit and due to an ankle injury I haven't even been out running or anything for a fair while so am doubtless actually very unfit.

So my plan is this:

After a few local trips (South Manchester), take a day off work in the week and get the train from Manchester to Delamere and the ride to Delamere Forest.

There, try out a few modest trails and (hopefully) enjoy myself and get familiarised with the bike and being offroad. And well, hopefully pop my cherry, so to speak. (Metaphorically).

Does this sound like a reasonable idea? Specifically in the sense that:

Will it be fairly self-evident which trails I should be attempting? (i.e easy ones). I do intend to buy a map from the centre.

Will Delamere Forest be a good place to begin some off-road biking or is there somewhere nearer South Manchester that would be more appropriate for me?

Is there any obvious (to everyone else) must-know etiquette I should be aware of? I don't want to get in anyone's way, pi*ss anyone off or worse.

Maybe I should be working a lot longer on my general fitness by riding around my local area much more first?

clearly it would be much better if I could go with someone but none of my mates are interested apart from one who is buying a bike in January. So for the minute, it is go by myself or not at all.

Any advice, help, direction would be gratefully appreciated, even if it's just 'That sounds fine, go for it'

Comments

• biff55
    biff55 Posts: 1,404
    im in similar position as you duggan , back in saddle after 13 years away from biking.