Help! Help! Help!

mrloelisi
mrloelisi Posts: 2
edited November 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi,

A complete novice to mountain biking, not been on a bike in a while!

I am looking to begin mountain biking as i remember when i was a bit younger i loved it!
The only problem is i have no idea which bike to get –i have read the guides and they are useful to an extent. The problem is that there are hundreds of different bikes all within the same price range with the same spec.

As you may imagine i am looking for the highest spec mountain bike for the lowest cost. I can probably expend about £300 top end on a mountain bike but ideally £250 is good.
Any ideas or recommendations to a good bike for this price?

Also i need a bike for commuting, is it advisable to get a bike that does both for about £600? Or to get two different bikes £300 each?

Completely lost but any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks

James

Comments

• How far is the commute, one for 500, spare tyres and stuff for the last 100...
  • Hercule Q
    Hercule Q Posts: 2,781
    the easiest thing to do is to do is go to the bike shop and see what fits you best and i personally would say that £600 will be better on one bike instead of two as you can ride on the road with knobbly tyres but slicks cost next to sod all any way.

pinkbike
    Blurring the line between bravery and stupidity since 1986!
  • Easy decision, pool your money for one bike, £600 can get you a good bike, half of that doesn't get alot. There are a few bikes which will do both jobs, I would suggest getting down to your local bike shop and trying a few.

Alot will depend on what you want the off-road bike for, if it's trail and XC you can easily kill two birds with one stone, still plenty of good deals to be had on 09 models.
    Ridley Orion
  • missmarple
    missmarple Posts: 1,980