Should I just give up?

disgruntledgoat
disgruntledgoat Posts: 8,957
edited October 2009 in Workshop
I've been trying today to change the chain, brake blocks, cables and bar tape on my bike today, to get it ready for winter... I state trying.

Noticed after fitting the chain that my shifter for the rear mech had "lost" a click on the way "up" (as in, towards the 25) so at a given point it would always miss out a gear. Then whilst trying to solve that, I wrapped the chain up and it came out of the cage on the mech.

Forgetting it was a KMC chain i'd just fitted, I went to work with my chain splitter, and now can't get it back together (i've been at it for an hour and a half now). You'd think they never intended those pins to come out :wink:

I've been riding and trying to maintain my bikes for 10 years now and neither seems to get any better. The way i'm feeling right now, with no prospect of riding until I can get hold of another chain (whenever one could be delivered...), i feel like just giving up and doing something else. :cry:
"In many ways, my story was that of a raging, Christ-like figure who hauled himself off the cross, looked up at the Romans with blood in his eyes and said 'My turn, sock cookers'"

@gietvangent

Comments

• Mister W
    Mister W Posts: 791
    Stick it back in the shed and look at it again tomorrow.
  • It's why you use split links. Those things do not go back without several hours of swearing. SRAM split links should work with your chain.

Do you have a nine or ten speed set-up? Either way did you get the correct chain? Nine speed chains won't work on ten speed set-ups and vice versa.
    If you have the correct chain, then you may have knocked the barrel adjuster on the rear mech, which could be why you are missing a gear. Which gear are you missing?

I'm also unsure as to what you mean about the chain "came out of the cage on the mech". Sounds like it wasn't in properly or you have taken out the jockey wheels.