Night Riding in Daylight?!?

steelo
steelo Posts: 542
edited October 2009 in MTB general
I've been riding XC at night for a couple of years now and especially since the clocks have gone back any ride after work is in complete darkness. I have a Hope Vision 2 up front and suits me just fine - I use the brightest (300 lumens) setting when riding very fast descents but apart from that I use the other settings predominantly the lowest setting for singletrack, uphills and any road sections I accidentally drift onto.

What gets me is this - when i'm riding in a group there are always a few people who insist on a handlebar mounted light cannon and a head mounted floodlight to turn the dark night into artificial daylight and therefore lose all sense that the sun has actually set. Riding into my own shadow when one of these bikers is behind me even though i've got a decent light of my own is really really annoying. :evil: And don't get me started on super-bright rear lights - annoyingly blindingly bright and a pain in the padded a$$ to follow through the woods.

Now don't get me wrong, riding at night you need a set of lights, thats a given, but surely the buzz of riding at night is that you can't see every undulation in the terrain, and that you need to concentrate more on whats next along the trail. Going out and buying a couple of the brightest lights known to man is surely a bit defeatest?

Anyone agree with me, or think Hope, Lumicycle, Lupine etc. still need to invest in brighter night-fighting weapons?
Specialized Rockhopper '07
Trek Fuel EX8 '09

Comments

• ride_whenever
    ride_whenever Posts: 13,279
    I like to be able to see where i'm going, a decent light means i can take trails i don't know very well/at all at a decent speed. Not to mention giving me the confidence to launch drops etc in the dark without having to guess the landing.