Its all so confusing.....

Champy79
Champy79 Posts: 46
edited October 2009 in Road beginners
Hi

New to this place so first and foremost hello.
A mate and I are planning on doing the La Marmotte next year and I have been looking into getting a new bike. I have looked at the gear guide within this forum and as im new to cycling im utterly confused.

Here is my question. Do I go for a Triple or Compact bike?

The bloke in Evans gave me two options:

1) Compact - get a carbon bike, it will be easier to ride, lighter and will more than make up for not having a triple whatdoyoucallit. After 6 months of hard training you wont need the "granny gear"

2) Triple - slightly heavier and for a newbie to cycling a good bet especially if you are riding up some big mountains.

Can anyone with experience in riding in the Alps add onto this. Im not sure what to go for.

Thanks

Comments

• garnett
    garnett Posts: 196
    I'd buy a cheap secondhand hack with whatever it comes with.

Use and abuse it over the winter when a decent bike would suffer.

If you're still cycling-crazy in March splash out on something swanky and bask in the comparative ease with which you now zip along.

I'm not expert in cycling but I am an expert in diving into something and then not following through. Your mileage will hopefully vary a great deal.
  • Mister W
    Mister W Posts: 791
    +1 You're heading into the season of wet roads, salt and grit so not the time to be putting miles on a shiny new bike. Pick up a second hand hack and put as many miles as you can on it. Then you'll be in a much better position to decide what sort of bike you want in the spring.
  • whilst I can see the sense in the reply above it is also worth considering that there are probably some good bargins on 2009 bikes right now. At the start of 2009 there were some pretty big prices rises as well (20-30%) so let's hope that does not happen again after xmas.