what upgrades should i make? 2010 secteur sport compact.

dizzle22
dizzle22 Posts: 21
edited October 2009 in Road beginners
what should i upgrade on my secteur sport compact? i dont mind the shifters so no need for the 105's but just wondering what are some good upgrades that you think i should do to this bike?

full specs are linked here: http://www.specialized.com/us/en/bc/SBC ... temId=9257

thanks everyone!

Comments

• sweet tyres and wheels. what is wrong with the wheels and tyres on it? just curious!! sorry im a noob :oops:
  • ride_whenever
    ride_whenever Posts: 13,279
    tyres, heavy and very sluggish, although good puncture protection however there are better winter tyres. A good folding winter tyre will make the bike feel a lot better.

The wheels: plain gauge spokes, necessarily heavy for no extra strength, very basic rims, hubs very poorly sealed and very soft races that pit and wear out very quickly.

Basically on most road bikes, particularly around this price point, the wheels are the real weak point.

You've got a good frame and forks, and you're happy with your go bits. Brake pads are also a good upgrade, finishing kit is only worth improving if you don't get on with it. Wheels are the area where you'll see the biggest difference.
  • awesome i really appreciate the advice. are there any specific wheels and tires you recommend? i have an indoor trainer that i will be using during the winter so i will probably just leave the same stock tires on for now. however next summer what wheels/tires do you suggest i upgrade to? thanks mate!
  • softlad
    softlad Posts: 3,513
    dizzle22 wrote:
    sweet tyres and wheels. what is wrong with the wheels and tyres on it? just curious!! sorry im a noob :oops:

depending on the level you ride at, there's probably nothing wrong with them at all. Get some miles on it first - the bike is completely rideable as it is....
  • skyd0g
    skyd0g Posts: 2,540
    softlad wrote:
    dizzle22 wrote: