Windows seven...

mask of sanity
mask of sanity Posts: 610
edited October 2009 in The bottom bracket
Seeing as there is an extensive thread about vista I thought I might be able to get a few answers about windows seven. As a student I am able to get it for £30 which doesn’t sound bad at all but just have a few questions first.

1) Is it worth it? I’m currently running Vista and havn’t had a great deal of issues with it as an OS but it seems a logical step to take seeing as its only £30.
2) Do I have to format my hard drive? I’ve got 60gb of music and nowhere to backup to atm, so don’t want to have to format. The version of vista I’m running is a 32 bit one and I’ve been led to believe that if I were to install the equivalent windows seven one it just does it as an upgrade. Is this correct?
3) If I can do it as an upgrade do I require the 16gb needed to install windows seven or will it just install over the current vista installation.
4) If my laptop runs vista will it run windows seven? I tried running the upgrade advisor but in true windows fashion that doesn’t work...

Thanks,

Rich.

Comments

• joec1
    joec1 Posts: 494
    1 - Yes
    2 - indeed...
    3 - Yes
    4 - Yes (7 is smaller)
    www.settingascene.com - MTBing in Wilts and the southwest, join up for info and ride details.
  • gkerr4
    gkerr4 Posts: 3,408
    I don't have win7 (i'm a mac user!) but from what I have read:

1) - up to you really - £30 is worth a go- different if you have vista and hated it like I do on one machine (vista made me "go mac")

2) yes - only XP users need to do a bare-bones install - win7 will upgrade vista (although i personallly would want to backup my drive and music before proceeding - can you not borrow a little portable drive or something?)

3) it won't need the 16gb - it wil install over vista - you might even save some hard disk space.