Gear changing question

2»

Comments

• jeannot18
    jeannot18 Posts: 720
    John.T wrote:
    If you paid to have the shifter fitted and it does not shift then take it back and get them to make it work. Almost certainly an adjustment issue but as they have fitted a new shifter and cables they should have left it working correctly.

Hi John, I paid to have the right hand shifter replaced acting on the cogs at the back but not for the left one. The LBS asked me if I wanted to replace the shifter on the left but said no, first to limit cost and secondly they told me that it worked ok. I have never tried it before as I always stayed on the small chain ring. On Sunday, I went out for a ride with a mate, and he told to change the chain ring, but it did not work. The derailleur is moving ok, and seems to push the chain against the large chain ring but it does not change over. I am pretty sure that it is a matter of adjustment. I need to find a video or a descriptif on how to do it before contacting the LBS again. Now that the rear cogs work I am enjoying my rides even more. Almost managed to stay with my mate during the ride except on the steep hills (he is an experienced rider), but what a difference with before the fix.
    JC
    Pédale ou crève
    Specialized Elite Allez with 105
    Rockrider 8.1 : )
  • John.T
    John.T Posts: 3,698
    http://www.parktool.com/repair/readhowto.asp?id=75
    Try this.
    Bookmark these for future reference.
    http://www.parktool.com/repair/
    http://www.sheldonbrown.com/
    Between them they answer most questions you may have.
  • jeannot18
    Thanks John, will check tomorrow morning (can't view videos at work)

JC
    Pédale ou crève
  • jeannot18