Watches when cycling

DonDaddyD
DonDaddyD Posts: 12,689
edited October 2009 in Commuting chat
Spinning out of the hit by a car (and because I don't think it's fair to derail Il Prince's thread any further) here is a chance to talk watches.

OK to begin.

In regards to our recently felled Prince, I recommended that he take his watch to Ernest Jones, not because they can repair his watch, god no, but because they can send his watch directly to Omega (the people who make his watch). Back when I worked as a Jeweller, Omega allowed no one qualified or otherwise to repair their (automatic) watches (especially the ones with co-axial movement, like Prince's watch) other than Omega employed staff, had something to do with assuring standards or something. For that very reason Omega parts are hard to source. This may be folklore or a means of Ernest Jones to jack up the price of an Omega/Rolex and Breitling repair. - God I love watches.

Personally it doesn't matter where you buy the watch but for the watch itself. Same with diamonds, if you know what you're buying you'll know what quality is (and hopefully without the additional cost generated by the shops brand, which usally has nothing to do with the diamond itself - unless they've cut it and made the ring) - My advice, fly to antwerp for the day where most diamonds seem to be graded/certificated and fitted to rings by a ring at less the cost than it will be sold in England fly back the same day.

OK so watches: