I've hit a wall, how do I get over it?

stevie63
stevie63 Posts: 481
I've been riding again since June after many years out of the saddle(even then I probably didn't do as much as I am now). I have clocked up nearly 1000 miles since then, though I am now doing more at around 70 miles per week. Family and work commitments prevent me from being able to increase the amount of cycling I do which is probably 4.5-5 hours a week.

However I am finding that I have hit a limit with no further imrovement happening. I am currently averaging between 16.5-17MPH and that hasn't changed for quite a few weeks. What should I do to improve my rides?

Comments

• freehub
    freehub Posts: 4,257
    Climb over the wall would be the obviouse solution, or perhaps walk around it?

Are you doing different routes? Or just the same, I'd vary the routes abit and maybe try get some hills in, make the routes harder, you'll start to improve then.
  • stevie63
    stevie63 Posts: 481
    Yeah I try and do different routes when I go out on 25 miles plus rides once a week. For shorter ones I'm a bit limited.
  • desweller
    desweller Posts: 5,175
    stevie63 wrote:
    Yeah I try and do different routes when I go out on 25 miles plus rides once a week. For shorter ones I'm a bit limited.

Set yourself a target e.g. a particular sportive or a century ride by a certain date. Go around telling everyone you know what your target is. Fear of public failure will then add a certain intensity to your training sessions...

Worked for me, anyway.
    - - - - - - - - - -
    On Strava.{/url}
  • Bhima
    Bhima Posts: 2,145
    No pain, no gain.

Go out and hurt yourself. :twisted:

Just don't become an endorphin addict like me. :?
  • nmcgann
    nmcgann Posts: 1,780
    4.5-5h/wk isn't much time to build fitness. What do you do each day over the week?
    --
    "Because the cycling is pain. The cycling is soul crushing pain."