Too heavy for a Roadie?

mattward1979
mattward1979 Posts: 692
edited October 2009 in Road beginners
Ok so I got my lovely new Spcialized Allez 2010 sport, and have ridden it for a few days relatively trouble free.

But today on my trip home from Uni, my rear tire sprung a leak... As you can imagine, pretty hacked off as its brand new!!

At 16.5 stone, am I just too heavy for a road bike? When i picked it up, I sat on it and the bike mechanic immedately went off to add 20 psi to each tire....

Will i be plagued by the P fairy due to the extra pressure on the tire/tube/rims?
exercise.png

Comments

• I was over 17st when i started riding a road bike and now 13st after a year, punctures happen at any time especially thistime of year when farmers are scattering thorns all over the road.

I have not had a puncture at all this year (cue phissssss noise on tomorrow mornings early training loop) but i do remember having thre in three rides before that.
    "BEER" Proof that god loves us and wants us to be happy
  • lfcquin
    lfcquin Posts: 470
    I think it is more likely that the tyres are not very good. I bought MRS LFCQUIN a Spesh Dolce last year and whatever tyres were on it (I can't remember) had loads of punctures. Things have been better since they were replaced.

Alternative is that it could just be luck. I had over 6 months without a P fairy visit, I buy a new set of wheels and had a visit on my first ride. Sometimes sh*t happens.
  • skyd0g
    skyd0g Posts: 2,540
    Keep the tyres at around 100psi to avoid the P*&$£%" Fairy as often as possible. :wink:
    Cycling weakly
  • Certainly hope its just bad luck! cant afford to replace the tires right now..

Ill get a new inner tomorrow and try again.. just hope the gash in the tire isnt fatal..
    exercise.png
  • gkerr4
    gkerr4 Posts: 3,408
    Certainly hope its just bad luck! cant afford to replace the tires right now..