Trek 4.5 c Madone 2009

robmurr2000
robmurr2000 Posts: 166
edited October 2009 in Road beginners
Hi,I am going to look at a trek 4.5 c Madone 2009 tomorrow. I was just looking to find some reviews beforehand but only found one on Google.Any opinions out there as to if this would be a good purchase for my first carbon frame bike? I was basically drawn to it because of the overall look,I like the blue and white. Up until now i have been riding a Carrera for a few years,but have been to a couple of sportives lately and although my trusty old friend done me proud,i feel it's time to upgrade.Any opinions/reviews would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Bought exactly the same bike 2 weeks ago, for the same reasons as you. I think it's a beautiful looking bike.

I'd suggest trying to get a deal on a brakes upgrade - my LBS switched the nonames for 105s for free.

Great bike - very very comfortable over longer rides. Has taken a while to get the gears tuned correctly but I think I'm nearly there!
  • thanks mightyw,will take your advice should i buy the bike.
  • +1 themightyw. The brakes are crap and let down what is a really good bike.

I suppose that it was a Trek marketing thing when competing with several other bikes all selling for £1600. The difference in cost of a 105 brake set over the no name variety could only have been minimal to Trek, but it has cost them several sales I'm sure, and it's often enough to just tip the balance when choosing a bike. I know that it's easy enough to get them replaced, but you usually have to pay extra. Not all bike shops will replace them free.

I opted for a Cannondale Synapse carbon 105. The brakes are excellent, BTW. I did have a short list of carbon framed bikes, and one of the bikes was the Trek 4.5/4.7
  • Evil Laugh
    Evil Laugh Posts: 1,412