About to take the plunge....advice needed please

riggsy81
riggsy81 Posts: 281
edited October 2009 in Road beginners
Hi guys

I'm new to road riding and will be purchasing my 1st roadie through the cycle scheme at work...

My shortlist is
Spesh Allez Triple 2010
Spesh Secteur Triple 2010
Trek 1.2T
Giant Defy 3.5
Giant Defy 4

Anyone got any recomendations, stories etc

I will going to a few shops over the weekend to have a proper look and try them for size and have already ridden the Allez which I found a really nice and comfortable ride.

Thanks in advance

Ben
I̶m̶ ̶t̶i̶r̶e̶d̶
I̶t̶s̶ ̶r̶a̶i̶n̶i̶n̶g̶
I̶t̶s̶ ̶t̶o̶o̶ ̶l̶a̶t̶e̶
NO EXCUSES
JUST RIDE!!!

Comments

• sturmey
    sturmey Posts: 964
    Any reason why you want a triple?

I would say get a compact. Unless you are rather unfit and/or planning on doing some touring.

God never meant lightweight roadbikes to have triple chainsets. It is a sin.
  • Pross
    Pross Posts: 40,217
    It's also worth trying to find some 2009 models as you will get more for your money (generally) even if they aren't at sale prices.
  • Any reason why you want a triple?

I would say get a compact.

+1 for this. Newbies often want to err on the side of caution and get a triple, but 9.9 times out of 10 this is unnecessary. Do you live somehwere mountainous or are you really unfit?

A basic compact with a 12/25 or 12/27 on the back will get you up most things.
  • Evil Laugh
    Evil Laugh Posts: 1,412
    Yeah a compact is fine.
  • im reasonably fit... so sod the triple off then :) double here I come....

cheers guys
    I̶m̶ ̶t̶i̶r̶e̶d̶
    I̶t̶s̶ ̶r̶a̶i̶n̶i̶n̶g̶
    I̶t̶s̶ ̶t̶o̶o̶ ̶l̶a̶t̶e̶
    NO EXCUSES
    JUST RIDE!!!
  • any recommendations on doubles around the £500 mark???
    I̶m̶ ̶t̶i̶r̶e̶d̶
    I̶t̶s̶ ̶r̶a̶i̶n̶i̶n̶g̶
    I̶t̶s̶ ̶t̶o̶o̶ ̶l̶a̶t̶e̶
    NO EXCUSES
    JUST RIDE!!!
  • also any idea about the

Orbea Fleche

looks quite nice
    I̶m̶ ̶t̶i̶r̶e̶d̶
    I̶t̶s̶ ̶r̶a̶i̶n̶i̶n̶g̶
    I̶t̶s̶ ̶t̶o̶o̶ ̶l̶a̶t̶e̶