maxxis tyres

matt cupid
matt cupid Posts: 28
edited October 2009 in MTB buying advice
I have recently been using maxxis high rollers (super tacky) for trail riding and xc but have found them to roll terable and sap any speed and effort i put in . they are very good in the wet and mud though. but has any body else had this problem ?

i'am now thinking of using something that will roll realy well but still grip and corner well and have been advised to get some maxxis aspens what does every one think about them?

Comments

• robinta
    robinta Posts: 211
    I have no experience of the aspens but the ardents are superb. Great compromise - easy rolling, light and good cornering ability.
  • nevegals, sticky one up front if a lot of roots and rocks.
  • ratty2k
    ratty2k Posts: 3,872
    Super Tacky at each end? If so, no wonder you are struggling a bit! Try them in 60A compound, rear first if you like the grip of the ST one up front.
    I run an Ardent on my 29er up front and am impressed enough to buy some for the 'normal' bike- not tried 'em yet tho...
    My Pics !

Whadda ya mean I dont believe in god?
    I talk to him everyday....
  • kangaroo
    kangaroo Posts: 1,199
    i have a rendez on the back, and it seems great, quite fast to
    what are brakes for again
  • Maxxis make great tyres! A great all-rounder is the Ignitor. Grippy in most conditions, good side-walls and roll quite fast.
  • RealMan
    RealMan Posts: 2,166
    continental rubber queens, of course.

Image0054.jpg

Perfect for the Alps, loads of grip. Yet still fine for the road climbs. Apart from jeycore xc racing and gnarlcore dh racing, I can't see a situation where they're not perfect.
  • Never had a problem with my highrollers, I run the tacky on the front and the normal 60a on the back, don't see any real reason to run a super tacky on the back, all I hear is about how much they drag but haven't got many others to compare them to and I've never had an issue with them.