Absolute beginner to cycling!

hhhrick
hhhrick Posts: 14
edited September 2009 in Road beginners
I have recently been riding around the roads on my mountain bike and feel it’s a hobby I really want to get into so decided it is time I bought a bike more suitable to the road and start taking it more seriously, the only problem is I have absolutely no idea what I am looking for or what is good/rubbish so am hoping you guys could help me out.
Firstly I don't even know what type of bike to go for, a full road bike or hybrid, or even if hybrid bikes are any good?? I have around £900 to spend but could stretch this to around £1000 if I had to. So far the only advise I have been given is too buy the best bike I can possibly afford so it will last me longer as I get better, but I just don't know what the best bike I can afford is. So far I have been told to check out the Boardman team carbon, planet x SL Pro Carbon Ultegra 6700 or the Condor Italia, are these actually any good & are they suitable for me? Also I have no idea about components so when the sites are asking you to choose what components you want I am totally lost, I have no idea what is good and what is utter rubbish! I don't even know what size bike I need too, I am sure this is the least of my worries as I can be measured for that. Please can you give me some advice of what to do/recommend a good bike for my price range & situation?

Comments

• buy a road bike...

as it's your first proper bike i'd try and get one that you can have fitted so you can get the right size. So that'd be the boardman
  • bompington
    bompington Posts: 7,674
    I can't really see the point of a hybrid if you already have an mtb, get a road bike for the roads.
    +1 from me for the Boardman, really pleased with mine, although I don't doubt that the other bikes mentioned are also good.