loss of tire pressure

fatblokefromwarwick
fatblokefromwarwick Posts: 331
edited October 2009 in Road beginners
Just had my Trek 1.5 a little over two weeks and almost immediately fitted Michelin Pro 3's on Bontrager race x lite tubes.
As i'm new to the dark side :wink: Is it normal to lose 35psi on both tires in this timescale?
Had been running them at 115psi & felt soft on the ride home so checked hence the question. Cheers.

Comments

• Mine did that the first couple of times but are fine now touch wood :roll:
  • Flasheart
    Flasheart Posts: 1,278
    I find my rear tyre loses pressure over a couple of days. I just make a point of getting the track pump out and topping front and rear up to 115psi before every ride..
    I don't want any visits from the P"££$%% Fairy now do I? :roll:
    The universal aptitude for ineptitude makes any human accomplishment an incredible miracle. ...Stapp’s Ironical Paradox Law
    FCN3
    http://img87.yfrog.com/img87/336/mycubeb.jpg
    http://lonelymiddlesomethingguy.blogspot.com/
  • Not sure if this is "normal" per se but I get the same thing. Tyres lose approximately 60psi in a week (from 120 to 60) front and rear. I'm not so bothered as the track pump is stored next to the bike, I generally ride out from home and the bike is only used for riding out rather than commuting.

Two minutes with the track pump and everything is fine - and less effort than trying to "fix" it and probably creating a new issue ;)

While this may not be normal for some, I do think that a lot is being asked of the inner tube and valve to store air at 8 atmospheres for a long time!

Neil
  • Flasheart
    Flasheart Posts: 1,278
    I even changed innertubes and brands of innertubes and it still happens. I think that they must be porous to an extent and as DubaNeil said 8 atmospheres of pressure is a lot trying to escape.
    The universal aptitude for ineptitude makes any human accomplishment an incredible miracle. ...Stapp’s Ironical Paradox Law