Pedals for noobs

Lord Jimmy 7th
Lord Jimmy 7th Posts: 379
edited October 2009 in Road beginners
hi im new to road bikes and am looking at pedals and shoes, any advice for newbie pedals that are maybe easier to get into and out of, im currently looking at the shimano 5610 105 SPD-SL pedals (can anyone tell me what SPD and SPD-SL mean) and the Shimano R086 SPD-SL shoes
any help is much appreciated

Comments

• Funny old thing I have same shoes started with SPD cleats, just upgraded to Speedplay, SPD easy in easy out, so they used to pop out when sprinting uphill, hence the move to SpeedPlay, however the SPD cleats are hard as nails. Load of threads on pedals on this forum do a search. But IMO you may have to work your way through pedals to find the ones that work best for you.

Happy hunting, oh great shoes BTW go a size larger than your normal shoes.
  • I like the feel of my keos over the SPD SL's, started with easy, just got some classics. Do fancy a try with speedplays next year though
  • yep just got myself some keo classics on specialized elite road shoes and theyre great, i'd definitely go for specialized shoes due to body geometry insole and shaping of the shoe, theyre the comfiest she ive ever used, also the sport roads come in at £59.99 bargain!
  • skinson
    skinson Posts: 362
    I've never come out of my SPD'S regardless of the effort put in! Perhaps they needed tightening if you were coming out whilst climbing?
    Dave
  • If your feet come out when climbing or sprinting then it could be the angle of the cleat. I remember my first pair of shoes (a cheap £30 pair) wouldn't allow for much adjusting - only back and forward, and side to side. So the cleats were pointing straight forward, where as I needed them to be pointing inward.

I'd recommend not being cheap on the shoes. I'd recommend starting with something like the Specialized Sport or something.
  • Good comments, however the point is moot.
  • thanks for the help so far,