Struggling with SPDs...

Maria1
Maria1 Posts: 18
edited September 2009 in MTB beginners
I've been riding with flats for a few years, but have never been particularly technically good, or confident (I generally stick to easier trails).

Anyway, recently I've got some Shimano Deore XT SPD pedals to try, but I'm really struggling with them. Stopping on level, easy ground isn't a problem - it's when I need to just put a foot down for balance on trickier stuff that I'm coming unstuck. I keep toppling into the nettles!

How long does it normally take to get used to SPDs? Some people say they were fine after a few rides, but I seem to be taking a bit longer...

Should I just give up & ride on flats? I'm not finding that it feels that much easier with SPDs, as fitness isn't what I have a problem with - it's technical ability I'm lacking!

Comments

• daniel_b
    daniel_b Posts: 11,538
    Hi Maria,

I will shortly be trying this too.

I am fairly proficient with SPD pedals for road use, but have never been brave enough to try them on an MTB, I tend to like to 'dab' now and then, and am worried this will not be possible with spd's.

We are off to Cyprus next week for a load of mountain biking and road cycling, and I am going to try SPD on an 'easier' day to see how I get on. Still a bit nervous though!

Dan
    Felt F70 05 (Turbo)
    Marin Palisades Trail 91 and 06
    Scott CR1 SL 12
    Cannondale Synapse Adventure 15 & 16 Di2
    Scott Foil 18
  • i have recently got some spd's on my xc bike and i am still a bit wobbly but i am getting the hang of it after quite a few rides so you should be ok after a while, i guess it will just take different people different amounts of time to learn. good luck :D
    Matty
  • stumpyjon
    stumpyjon Posts: 4,069