wirralguy
wirralguy Posts: 29
edited September 2009 in Road beginners
Hi i have lurked for some weeks on this forum it has some good info for a learner cyclist so i have just joined .
old age is a state of mind

Comments

• kfinlay
    kfinlay Posts: 763
    Welcome Wirralguy,

I'm a noob too and have got some great info from the archives and stickies, just gotta get out and ride more. You just starting out like me or coming back to cycling? I'm hoping to do a charity event next year so gotta get bike fit!
    Kev

Summer Bike: Colnago C60
    Winter Bike: Vitus Alios
    MTB: 1997 GT Karakorum
  • Hi Kev i have had a mountian bike for years but only used it to plod to the shops ,never had a bike as good as this racer i feel like Meerx every time i get out .
  • bompington
    bompington Posts: 7,674
    wirralguy wrote:
    i feel like Meerx every time i get out .
    That's just what it's all about! Hold that feeling tight.

Anyway, compare the Merckx hats!
    3947158023_fef5e1a377_o.jpg

3947938296_8117e2e1e7_o.jpg
  • bompington
    LOL
  • kfinlay
    I was the same, had a decent GT mountain bike worth nearly £1k and used for the shops every now and then, now got a road bike so plan on keeping it for dry days and the GT for wet days (and possible commute).
    I was really into my cycling when young over 25 years ago and have kept a tab on the TDF each year so vaguely remember storie of Merckx, and Hinault, the emergence of americans such as Lemond then along came big Miguiel Indurain, didn't keep up much in late 90s early 2000s but followed the action a lot more this year. Now having got back into some decent shape (for a 40 something) I'm enjoying being back cycling properly.
    I've been on Google maps etc to plan routes for me to build on having only done a 9 mile loop 3 times in the last week, will do it again tomorrow then approx 15 miles on Saturday and see how I feel from there - no point in planning too far just now.
    How about you?
    Kev