all weather cycling

eyebee
eyebee Posts: 257
edited September 2009 in Road beginners
Just wondering how many people cycle (road) throughout the winter, regardless of the weather...not including home trainers!

Comments

• Well I am new to cycling, but as i only work 4 day a week (at WE) i have got quite a bit of flexibility and I will go out during the winter on a decent day (by that i mean no rain) cold and wind i can deal with but not the rain.
    JC
    Pédale ou crève
    Specialized Elite Allez with 105
    Rockrider 8.1 : )
  • MrChuck
    MrChuck Posts: 1,663
    jeannot18 wrote:
    Well I am new to cycling, but as i only work 4 day a week (at WE) i have got quite a bit of flexibility and I will go out during the winter on a decent day (by that i mean no rain) cold and wind i can deal with but not the rain.
    JC

+1. If it's not too wet or icy then I'll go.
  • You'll find most of the 'posters' on here endure the grim winter riding hence the proliferation in the Buying Advice section on winter gear, lights, mudguards etc at about this time of the year.

I top up this with 1 - 2 turbo sessions peer week as well.

Steady long rides are usually recommended for winter riding to build base fitness.
  • eyebee
    eyebee Posts: 257
    I done it most of last winter ,except for the very extremest of conditions,on a hybrid.Due to work/family commitments my commute is treated as a training ride(11 miles either way)since upgrading bikes.I usually get a lnger ride in at the weekend 30-60 miles.The only real downside is a 4am start.
    I tend to find not too many cyclists will actually venture out (weekends) despite the gear available, unless it is 'fair' weather.
  • I tend to jump on the MTB in winter and hit the trails, cant beat a good muddy blast.
    Icy and wet roads scare me!!
    "BEER" Proof that god loves us and wants us to be happy
  • Ice on roads is the only stopper for me, otherwise come rain or shine, only the speed varies. :D
  • blu3cat