did i break my shocks?

radiojaja
radiojaja Posts: 94
edited September 2009 in MTB beginners
i'm pretty new to mtb'ing and so far having a whale of a time!

ive a giant terrano disk which has been brilliant, i ride mostly on woodland trails with the odd slightly more 'hardcore' quarry adventure

considering i was 2 1/2 stone heavier when i started, i think my bike has had quite a tough few months.

its stood up great, and i'm slowly learning to look after it, but i seem to have a problem with the shocks. they are rockshocks i think, and pretty basic i would guess

when i hit any type of obstacle like roots or rocks, they seem to clang! they feel pretty stiff, but on the return they knock too

ive just been out and noticed they are getting so stiff that the front wheel struggles a bit to stay planted over rougher stuff, with the bike feeling like its controlled by the shocks rebound slightly, jumping as the shocks 'straighten'

its only 6 months old or so, can anyone suggest what might be up with them? or even what i could do to sort it

i dont think they did it when i first started, and it does seem to be getting worse

i have had a look online, and on this site, but cant seem to find anything

maybe its just what shocks do?

any advice for an old fogey new to all this stuff is much appreciated!

Comments

• Andy B
    Andy B Posts: 8,115
    Which forks? (make & model)
    2385861000_d125abe796_m.jpg
  • good point!

sr suntour xcm v2

thats whats written on them anyway!
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Cheap, basic forks I am afraid. Sounds like they need a service (strip and clean) or the bushing may have gone, in which case it is new fork time.
  • i was afraid that may be the case...

would it be the riding? my (original) weight? lack of care? I tried to keep them clean, honest!

or just the fact they arent as good as the rest of the bike?

by the way, thanks for taking the time to reply! appreciate it