Where to go from here?

kfinlay
kfinlay Posts: 763
edited September 2009 in Road beginners
Hi All,

I'm Kev and I live in Fife Scotland. I'm a noob here to the forum although have lurked for a few weeks trying to pickup advice and info.

I'm generally quite fit from weight training and cross training but certainly not bike fit. I've recently started road biking and do a 9 mile loop which has a good mix of flat and hills - so far only did 3 runs at about 33mins ave 15.9mph - don't laugh too loud pls.

My question is do I continue to try and do this loop faster and climb the hills better (1 is about a mile long others only a few hundred yards) or build on the amount of miles I'm doing? Just looking to generally improve and all going well build on this after winter with a possible view to complete the MacMillan Trust French Alps trip - 3 days 2 mountains a day finishing on top of Alpe D'Huez although I'm sure you guys know this already. Just now the main thing limiting me is I can only cycle 2 times a week - Thursdays and Saturdays but hope to be able to fit in an extra day later- this would need to be a Friday or Sunday. I also work out 3 times a week Mon - Wed - Fridays - just giving you this info so you can hopefully give the most appropriate advice

Any help/advice welcome
Kev

Summer Bike: Colnago C60
Winter Bike: Vitus Alios
MTB: 1997 GT Karakorum

Comments

• amaferanga
    amaferanga Posts: 6,789
    IMO you should forget about getting faster for now (16mph isn't actually slow) and get the miles in. Look to increase the distance of your weekend ride(s). Is there a particular reason why you can't swap one of your workouts for a bike ride or at least do an hour on the bike at the gym?
    More problems but still living....
  • bompington
    bompington Posts: 7,674
    +1 for build the miles. Loads of nice roads round Fife, including some good hilly ones.
    -1 for bike at gym - it's not worth the boredom!
  • kfinlay