18 speed Shimano Deore or 27

popsicle
popsicle Posts: 4
edited September 2009 in Road beginners
I'm hoping someone can offer good advice, I have just bought a road bike with flat bars, it was sold as having 27 gears but has only 18. Normally should a bike like this have only 18 as I have now been told and that 27 gears are only for off roading?
I'm new to the world of real cycling and paid a lot so that I could have a good bike with the possiblility of going distance comfortably and riding hills or bigger.
I don't want to push the bike shop into replacing something that would be detrimental to the type of bike I have (Corratec Shape Pro). But I have already used all the gears in what I thought was a small ride loaclly.
I should really appreciate some advice.
Cheers :?

Comments

• alfablue
    alfablue Posts: 8,497
    If it has 18 gears, is that with double chainset (two rings at the front, where the pedal fixes) or a triple chainset?

If the shop told you 27 gears is only for off roading, they are lying to you. Mtb's have 27 gears, i.e. triple chain ring and a 9 speed cassette at the back.

Modern road bikes generally come with 9, 10 or even 11 speed cassettes, so with a double chainring at the front this gives 18, 20 or 22 gears, however some come with a triple chainset, more suitable for touring or for riding in hilly areas if you are not so fit. I have a road bike with 27 gears and one with 20. All perfectly normal.

If they have sold you one with a 6 speed cassette then they have not only lied to you, but probably sold you an old model. If they have sold you one with a 9 speed cassette and a double chain ring then you do not have as wide a range of gearing as you might want.

Whether the bike is good or bad, or the gears as you want or need, I despise the bike shop for either their ignorance or their dishonesty!
  • Hey, thanks for the quick reply!