chainset and bb upgrade

hmmmm
hmmmm Posts: 3
edited September 2009 in Workshop
I've been upgrading various bits of my Specialized Allez since I bought it in 2008 and quite enjoy ebay bargain hunting. I now want to upgrade the chainset to something a bit lighter and smarter. Can I swap the Sora triple for a reasonably recent 105 or Ultegra double without too much hassle? What BB would I need? I've changed BBs and chinsets before but only like for like. Are there any pitfalls that I should be aware of (I've already got double 105 shifters waiting to go!).
Thanks for any advice.

Comments

• Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    Most decent chainsets these days utilise external bearing BBs - just get the one that matches the chainset of your choice. I'm not a big fan of SRAM GXP - seem to be the weakest of the bunch - I wore one out within 6 months.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • gkerr4
    gkerr4 Posts: 3,408
    as monty said - most modern are external - for Shimano that meant hollowtech2 - FSA make a similar system called 'mega-exo' - they both use the same 24mm std and similar bearings and they both need the same tools (although FSA also used to do a 19mm version before people seemed to standardise)

they are very very easy to fit - especially the FSA ones in my experience (fitted mega-exo, HT2 and campags Ultra-torque (which is slightly different))

as well as ebay - check out Chain Reaction Cycles at the moment they have some nice reductions on FSA parts - I got a chainset (older 19mm one but it came with a BB) for £39 the other week - they had ones at £29 too and a very nice 'team edition' model at £69.99 which was a pretty hefty reduction and might be a decent upgrade on an allez.
  • If you are interested I have a Chorus 8) 53/39 complete with BB and spare 53/39 rings.

Best to go down the Campag square taper route IMHO

But saying that I did buy the following c/set from CRC...