which cadence for tts

love2ride
love2ride Posts: 224
edited September 2009 in Amateur race
Hi
I'm 14 and I have been cycling for a few years. I can do a 10 mile tt in 23mins.
What sort of cadences should i be doing so that I don't mess up my knees.
thanks

Comments

• About 90 rpm would be good to aim for.
    What size gears are you using at the moment?
    so many cols,so little time!
  • Is this on a tt bike?
  • It is on a tt bike(planet x). I have a 53 on the front and a 12-25 on the back. I might change it to a 11 23 next year.
  • Floodcp
    Floodcp Posts: 190
    Are you allowed to ride a 53x12??
    I thought youths gears were meant to be limited. Looking at the rules you should be riding no more than about 53x17 (6.54m)
  • for tt's there is no restriction.
  • Floodcp
    Floodcp Posts: 190
    Really?? I am based in Ireland and I am pretty sure there are restrictions for TTs over here but I may be mistaken.
    Surely the reason for not pushing big gears is as valid for TTs as Road races??
  • yes i totaly agree with you, it could damage some young riders knees. Hence restrictions in road races ect..
    should be changed i think
  • SBezza
    SBezza Posts: 2,173
    There is a gear restriction in the GHS IIRC, but not generally in TT's. As for cadence what ever feels most comfortable. The really fast TTer's are probably 95+, and this would probably be better for a youngster, than pushing big gears.
  • what is the gear restriction for the ghs? are you sure that there is one because some people turn out 21:xx
  • SBezza
    SBezza Posts: 2,173
    I have had a quick look in the CTT handbook, and there is no mention of any gear restrictions for any event inc the GHS races. I was thinking more of the GHS final itself rather than the district rounds, I know one of the lads in my club doesn't ride with any gear restrictions in open TT's