Aching wrists

sian_c
sian_c Posts: 101
edited September 2009 in Commuting chat
I'm writing this on behalf of my boyfriend who has recently started cycling to work (about 6 miles each way). It's his first real use of a road bike (got a Trek Portland) and has been complaining of wrist problems. Not only have his wrists been aching on the bike (sometimes working up to his shoulders too), but are also causing him quite a lot of pain off the bike. Was wondering if anybody had any ideas about the cause, or even better, a solution to this problem!?

Comments

• Hi there,

I'm no expert, but I'd guess that his position on the bike means that he's putting too much pressure on his wrists. Only your bum and your legs are really designed for bearing weight.

There's a cycling God by the name of Sheldon Brown who is usually very good for these questions, I'd recommend his view on the situation:

http://www.sheldonbrown.com/pain.html#wrists

Hope this helps.
  • will3
    will3 Posts: 2,173
    Often this is an indication that the handlebars are too low. I've suffered from it myself in the past
    Look up "handlebar palsy" and "ulnar neuropathy"
    As he has a road bike with presumably drops, changing and variying the grip position should help. And padded gloves with gel inserts.

HTH
  • will3
    PS forgot to say, whatever you do don't ignore it as if it gets worse and you get as far as the palsy stage it's no fun at all. (but it is reversable)
  • sian_c
    Thanks for the web link, Undercover Elephant - an excellent piece of info. Helpful for me too! It's sounding like it's a posture issue - something we both need to work on.

He spent a fair bit of time in the shop when he bought the bike having it set up for him (on a jig), so hopefully that's not too far off. But we will be sure to mention it when he goes back soon for the initial check-up. Until then, we'll try to take on board the advice of Mr Brown & hope that provides some relief.

Cheers.