spending £600... will I appreciate the difference?

mattward1979
mattward1979 Posts: 692
edited September 2009 in Road beginners
hey all,

im upgrading from a very poor LBS MTB to a Spesh allez sport 16 which will wipe out £600 of my student loan. (ill pay it back I promise!!!! )

As a complete newbie to the world of road cycling, I was just hoping for a bit of assurance on the difference I will feel going for not only a new class of bike, but also something with far superior parts.

I weigh just over 17 stone.. so im no midget... but the good thing is that most of this exists in my legs. I have exceptional power but questionable stamina... Is this an issue?

My £160 MTB has taken me on a journey of 2500 miles in just over a year, and the recent London to Windsor I completed in 3 hours 6 minutes.. I actually finished before a guy on a Boardman road comp!!

I suppose all I want to know is, should I go for something cheaper that I can basically rattle the crap out of inside a year (Carerra), or go for something half decent that will ultimately improve my cycling, albeit at the expense of my bikes life?
exercise.png

Comments

• You will notice a great difference! Speed being the main thing, going from a heavy bike with wide tyres to a streamline road bike!! You going to cycle to uni on it? If so, maybe spend less! And make sure you get it insured.
    Road: Felt AR0, Di2
    Touring/commute: Dolan Multricross
    TT: PX Exocet Sold because it was like a sail in the wind (sh*t)
  • Yeah this year its a 10 mile round trip 5 days a week ( that includes 2 days of work commuting ), but next year, its going to be a 30 mile round trip 3 days, plus the 2 days of 10.

So I want something that can take the daily abuse!
    exercise.png