Granfondo Sportful & La Marmotte 2010

canoas
canoas Posts: 307
I looking at doing Granfondo campag & Marmotte together within the 2 weeks. Anyone done the Granfondo & Marmotte in one year?

The only major sportive I did this year was Quebrantahuesos in the Pyrenees which was about 3,500m of climbing.

Let me know your thoughts. 10,700m of climbing in 2 weeks is a lot! I think I can do it just need some advice from anyone who's done it! training suggestions etc....

Comments

• If you can complete the Marmotte, you can comfortably do the Gran Fondo within 2 weeks of doing it. If they were within 2 days of each other, then I would be worried!
  • I did the Tour of Pembroke, Dragon, Marmotte and Pinrello Granfondo one after the other over 6 weeks last year. I was flying on the track couple of weeks later, which was a bit of a surprise :D
  • canoas
    Will - cool, yeah within 2 days would be a worry unless I was a pro! That's good to know.

oldwelshman - nice photos, thanks for the info, that is a hell of an effort. Well done

I'm 40 but theirs still plenty of energy left!
  • Kléber
    Kléber Posts: 6,842
    Will Young wrote:
    If you can complete the Marmotte, you can comfortably do the Gran Fondo within 2 weeks of doing it. If they were within 2 days of each other, then I would be worried!
    Exactly. 2-3 days of gentle riding should be enough, so long as you drink lots of water and eat moderately, don't pig out. Your legs could be a bit tired but after half an hour of riding you will be feeling fine.
  • knedlicky
    knedlicky Posts: 3,097
    Two weeks gap sounds fine to me. I’ve done two cyclosportives each with about 3500 m of climbing and 180 km distance within 2 weeks and not felt the first had any effect on the second, and I’m over 40 years. Two days after the Marmotte I did a 100 km ride with about 2500 m climbing albeit not with tempo.