Boardman Comp or Team?

nicol1980
nicol1980 Posts: 15
edited September 2009 in MTB buying advice
Hi guys/girls,

Im new to the mountain biking scene and i am looking for advice on which of the two bikes above would be best for a novice. Basically i am going to start doing trails and maybe taking it up the North of Scotland for some routes i have been looking at. My main problem is deciding between these two bikes. I know the boardmans get a good write up but with my lack of experiance would i really notice the difference in the componentry ? this conflicts however with the rule of thumb of getting the best frame and fork that you can afford.

P.S This is through the B2W scheme.

Any help or advice is much appreciated

Comments

• canada16
    canada16 Posts: 2,360
    FS OR HT ?

They come in both as far as I know
  • You will notice differences yes, especially when it comes to fork upgrades. You'd notice a difference going to the Pro as well, but at some point you have to set a budget. Buy the best you can afford I reckon.

Although if you go for the cheaper option, does that mean you can buy some nice riding gear to go with it.....?
  • sorry guys for lack of info.

The two im looking at are HT.

By buying the lower of the two i would be able to shell out for some equipment to go with it i.e helmet, lights, bike lock etc. but if i thought it was better to just get the stuff on my own and fork out for the better bike i would probably do that.
  • canada16
    canada16 Posts: 2,360
    Your riding will be better with a better bike,

But if you are only going to use it for occasional use then try the cheaper, and if you really get into it, you can upgrade a year or so down the line, or when parts start breaking.

I got a bike and it went from 1000.00 to 3000.00 due to upgrades as really got into it.

IMHO