completely new to cycling, just bought a trek 2.5

BennyG2.5
BennyG2.5 Posts: 3
edited September 2009 in Road beginners
I am completely new to cycling. I had mountain bikes in the past and I have no problem cycling. However, I recently decided to buy a racer bike having listened to two co-workers talking about them at work. I decided to buy a good one to begin with as no point in wishing for a better one down the line....so i bought the new Trek 2.5 simply because I was told it would last me years if looked after properly and as I get really into cycling the bike will still be high quality. I havn't actually picked it up yet (waiting for delivery). Has anyone advice on getting started? what should i do and not do? what cycling gear should i get. thank you for taking the time to read this and reply. Benny

Comments

• geoff93
    geoff93 Posts: 190
    Welcome, ;)

Get a good pair of cycling shorts, don't have to be expensive, but the padding will make riding a lot more comfotable.

A pair of cycling shoes and cleats will always be a good investment in my mind.

If you're planning to ride through the winter, you'll need some good thermal gear along with a windproof/waterproof cycling jacket, or if you don't want to face the weather, a turbo trainer will be ideal.

As it's going to be getting darker, earlier quite soon, a pair of lights would also be a worthwhile investment.

Most importantly, get a good routine going, and enjoy it.

Geoff :)
    Trek Madone 3.5 (RS80s, Arione)
    Trek Madone 3.1 (Upgraded)
    Ribble TT Bike
    Trek Mamba (Garry Fisher Collection)
  • Benny, I have just done the same. Got an MTB and thought I'd have ago on the road and got the Trek 5.2

Unfortunatly costs mount up

Pedals ; Look Keo Classics

Spose you could get flats but clip in seem better and more effective (but may take some getting used to. Took 4 stitches out my girlfriends knee today after she fell off in the clips)